Windows | A Poem

Another one of my 4-H creative writing exercises was to write a poem! I considered copping out and using the poem I wrote a while ago, but I decided to write a new one instead, for more practice. During the process of writing this one, another one wrote itself in my mind.

Here’s the one that wrote itself.

I’m writing a poem that needs to be deep

It’s supposed to have rhythm and metrical feet

Through bang-head-here moments I groan and I weep

While googling synonyms that start with e.

All right. Here’s “Windows.”

some slam the shutters, seal out light
afraid of being seen

others peer out over the sill
but soon duck back beneath

some lean out, searching, grasping for
rewards they cannot reach

while scoffers stand behind the glass
they never brave to breach

few sit, no screen, no shade to shield
their smiles from the world

if eyes are windows to the soul
who will i see in yours?

What did you think? Comments? Critiques?

15 thoughts on “Windows | A Poem

  1. This is beautiful. I really enjoyed the second poem. You brought together something material with something abstract very beautifully. There are many perspectives in the poem too, which made me feel the poem as I read it. Great job. Since the last line is a sudden change in the direction of the poem, I would have hinted before that I was talking about the soul and that it was an analogy. Just a small hint. Just so that when they come to the last line, they’ll feel like they discovered something from the hints and it will make the poem more interesting. But that’s a very personal opinion. Great post on the whole! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your in-depth thoughts! It would be great to implement hints throughout the poem to show how it will relate to the last couplet. I’m just not sure how I’d do that with the metrical pattern I chose and everything, though. But it’s a thought!

      Like

Leave a comment