Creative Writing Fair Entry

Image credit Engin_Akyurt

For my final entry in the 4-H fair, I wrote three rhymed poems.

Don’t look so shocked! I’m trying to step outside my comfort zone.

Anyway, here they are. All feedback is welcome.

our healer

we need a great physician
in our sickness-ridden land
to heal a black infection
with his skillful, gentle hands.

and when this wondrous healer
walks among us, he’ll raise
us from our self-inflicted sickbeds
made of hatred, pride, and lies.

where is our healing savior
for we’re dying without hope
every day our strength is waning
a dark poison fills our souls.

a hero offered healing
two thousand years before
but we refused the antidote
rejected love, the cure.

his love can heal our hearts
and raise us from our beds
but to us he gives the choice:
life with him, or death.

Cloud Cat

The storm cloud rests
Atop my bed
And rumbles softly
Contented.

It’s drifting near
Gray fluff billows
As it gathers
By my pillows.

I’m unsure now
If I quite like
This ominous cloud
Lightning might strike!

I need not fear
This cloud so small
It’s only purring
After all. 

His Child

I want to be a child again
Content in my world that is joyful and free
My problems were simple; I loved being me
I want to be a child again.

My child, you need to surrender to Me
Have faith of a young one and follow Me, then
You’ll be My child; you’ll be born again
My child, I love you. Surrender to Me.

The entire project consisted of many more writing assignments; these poems are just the final project. I’ll be posting some of my other assignments for you to read in future!

I hope these poems made you think.

Leave a comment